PRCI Elects New Chair, Vice Chair, and Executive Board Members


Wed, November 15, 2017

November 15, 2017 —

At its recent meeting, the Executive Assembly (EA) of Pipeline Research Council International, (PRCI), elected Jeff Whitworth, Reliability & Integrity Manager at Shell Pipeline Company LP, as Chair for a two-year term ending in September 2019. He replaces Phillip H. DePriest, Manager, Operational Excellence & Risk at Marathon Pipe Line LLC, who will continue serving on the EA & Executive Board (EB) as Past Chair. In addition, the EA elected Walter Kresic, Vice President, Pipeline Integrity at Enbridge Pipelines Inc., as Vice Chair.

Mr. Whitworth has been a member of the PRCI Board of Directors since 2012, serving most recently as Vice Chair, and Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee.  He has a desire for improving process safety performance and operational practices across the pipeline industry and believes that achieving best in class safety performance is not a competitive advantage, but requires proactive collaboration with a wide range of stakeholders across industry boundaries. Mr. Whitworth currently leads the Reliability and Integrity program for Shell Pipeline Company LP, where he has responsibility for engineering and operations standards that deliver sustainable and safe performance. He has previously served in various engineering, business planning, and operations roles during his career. Jeff’s educational background includes a B.S. in Petroleum Engineering and a Masters of Business Administration, both earned from The University of Texas at Austin. 

“It is an exciting time to assume leadership of PRCI.  There have been a number of significant developments at PRCI that will strengthen our position as the leading research organization for pipeline systems across the globe.  With the opening of the Technology Development Center, we have created a collaborative environment between pipeline operators, vendors, researchers, and regulators to ensure that we are driving towards zero incidents.  In the last year, we have enabled PRCI to more rapidly respond to the key issues facing our industry which will improve process safety performance and operational practices.  I am looking forward to leading PRCI over the next two years and enabling PRCI to guide and direct the industry on research,” stated Jeff Whitworth.

In addition to Messrs. Whitworth, Kresic, and DePriest, the EA also elected two new members on the Executive Board to fill the positions of outgoing members: Graeme M. Feltham, Vice President, Engineering & Construction with ATCO Pipelines; and Mark Gebbia, Director, Environmental with Williams will sit on the EB for three-year terms concluding in September 2020. They replace Gary Buchler, Chief Operating Officer at Kinder Morgan, and Christophe Renier, Industrial Assets Programs Vice President at ENGIE who will continue serving on the Executive Assembly. Consequently, the following Executive Assembly members comprise PRCI’s leadership team:

  • Jeff Whitworth, Chair
  • Walter Kresic, Vice Chair
  • Phillip H. DePriest, Past Chair
  • Jim Andrew, Koch Pipeline Company, L.P.
  • Graeme Feltham, ATCO Pipelines
  • Mark Gebbia, Williams
  • John Haldiman, Plains All American Pipeline
  • Phu Phan, Enterprise Products
  • Mark Yeomans, TransCanada PipeLines Limited

In considering the new Executive Board, PRCI President Cliff Johnson noted, “Each year, I am amazed by the time and passion our members dedicate to PRCI. The new Executive Board and the enhancements that were approved highlight the desire to make PRCI the premier energy pipeline and facilities research organization in the world. We are looking forward to another year of important outcomes in our research portfolio and even greater engagement in our program and utilization of our results.”